LocalBitcoins suspends accounts of all traders located in several African countries, per EU commission

posted 6 months ago
LocalBitcoins disabled accounts from several African countries and sent a notice to traders. A number of countries were defined by the EU commission, where they require ‘an enhanced due diligence process’ before they can operate. Botswana, Ethiopia, Ghana, Libya, Nigeria, and Tunisia are listed as the only African countries affected, however traders from other countries are also complaining that their accounts were suspended.

This recent development follows yet another service withdrawal from the peer to peer Bitcoin marketplace when it quietly removed the in-person cash trades option and cancelled all pending fiat trades a couple of months ago.
Tags: bitcoin, news